Pork Chops Shouldn’t Make You Cry

257811

When you cry over the reality that the breaded pork chops you just made suck, you know your day isn’t going so well.

These past few weeks I feel like I’ve been pulled in a thousand different directions: work, party planning, moving, looking into graduate schools, starting a new job, trying to save money, trying to eat healthy, trying to drag my ass to the gym more often, trying to be the perfect girlfriend, seeing my friends, etc. Most days I can manage my stress pretty well. However, these past few weeks the smallest things have been setting me off. Last night, it was the pork chops that did it.

After a long day at  the office I rushed home to make dinner for my boyfriend and I. I’ve been trying to force us to eat healthier lately and thought I’d give a recipe for healthy breaded pork chops a go. I knew that Mark wasn’t really a fan of pork chops (steak, steak, and more steak is his meat of choice), but in my imagination I envisioned creating such a delicious meal that it would surely even win over his somewhat picky palette. Anyway, the recipe I used had over four and half stars and the reviews promised good results. The directions were super easy to follow and it took me no time at all to toss the chops into the oven for 30 minutes.

After setting the table Mark and I were ready to taste my creation. I knew, the second I tried cutting into the pork chop, that they were not going to be good. Pork, in general can be dry and tough. However, if prepared correctly can be delicious. These weren’t horrible, but they were far from delicious. I had to use some serious bicep power to cut into the chops. Probably in an attempt to cheer me up, my boyfriend tried to make small talk and started listing off the few times he’d had pork in his life and how once he became seriously ill from eating a piece of pork. I know this intentions were good, but for some reason in my dejected state, I viewed his stories as hurtful. I started crying over my mediocre pork chops.

Lately, I feel like my life has been like those pork chops. Mediocre. Things have been so hectic lately that I feel like I’ve been “halfass-ing” a number of things. Cooking is usually my forte so when my pork chops fell short of the mark, I took the failure very personally. I’ve always had a competitive streak. I like “winning.” I like being successful. It’s always been hard for me to accept that things can’t always be perfect.

There’s no perfect or right way to “do life.” As stated by my loving boyfriend, “it’s a journey.”

I’m trying to take this advice to heart. My life is great. It’s not perfect, it could use some tweaks here and there, but all in all, I’m very fortunate.

Later that night I made a batch of peanut butter chocolate cookies and all was well again in the world :).

Leave a Reply

